Posted by: landonrordam | July 19, 2009

Drink it up!

Day three in Copenhagen!

Today, I really wore myself out.  I said I wanted to walk the streets of Copenhagen, just like Kierkegaard, and Copenhagen is an extremely walkable city, but man.  I probably walked four or five miles today.

As for what I did:

I had the ultimate nerd-out when I went to the Copenhagen city museum, which was very interesting.  They had a lot of models of medieval Copenhagen which were fascinating but more importantly, they had a room DEDICATED to Søren Kierkegaard.  I think everyone else in the museum was a little disturbed because I took a picture of every single thing in each of the cases.  His writing desk and cupboard were also there, which was supremely awesome. 

The more interesting pictures will appear eventually on Fragments of a Journey , my scholarly Kierkegaard blog, and you can look at them there.  I won’t bore you with them here. 

I then walked toward what I thought was Kierkegaard’s ex-fiancee’s house, but later (when I looked at the map again) turned out NOT to be it.  Whoopsie.  But I did pass by a statue of Hans Christian Andersen:

Hans Christian Andersen and an Asian tourist.  Isn't that cute?

Hans Christian Andersen and an Asian tourist. Isn't that cute?

 AND I saw this very macho-looking guy continually flipping his kayak.  Over and over and over.  It didn’t look like fun.  Maybe it’s some kind of training?

Lookin' pretty cold there, buddy.

Lookin' pretty cold there, buddy.

Then I spent some time on Strøget, the pedestrian walking street where all the touristy shopping is, and then visited the Rundetårn, or Round Tower.  The Rundetårn is about eight floors up, all in a big spiral.  It’s pretty tiring, but there’s a GREAT view once you get up there.  It was used as an observatory for a long time, until they built a new one, and they actually had the observatory open when I went.

The Rundetårn!

The Rundetårn!

Up the Rundetårn!

Up the Rundetårn!

A weird astronomical calendar or something.

A weird astronomical calendar or something.

View 1 from the Rundetårn

View 1 from the Rundetårn

View 2 from the Rundetårn

View 2 from the Rundetårn

View 3 from the Rundetårn. Notice the Church of our Lady (Vor Frue Kirke) in the middle.  That's the church Kierkegaard used to go to way back before he began his crusade against the Danish Church.

View 3 from the Rundetårn. Notice the Church of our Lady (Vor Frue Kirke) in the middle. That's the church Kierkegaard used to go to way back before he began his crusade against the Danish Church.

View 4 from the Rundetårn

View 4 from the Rundetårn

View 5 (and the last) from the Rundetårn!

View 5 (and the last) from the Rundetårn!

A 400-year-old observatory (the telescope is newer). How cool is that?

A 400-year-old observatory (the telescope is newer). How cool is that?

Annnd finally, I visited a cafe (Klaptæet) that set up shop in a building where Kierkegaard used to live.  Here in Denmark a sandwich is a smørrebrød, which is open-faced and eated with a knife and fork.  It was really really good.

A Chorizo smørrebrød.  Freakin' huge.  To quote Mitch Hedberg: "Would you like anything else?"  "Ya, a loaf of bread and some OTHER PEOPLE!"

A Chorizo smørrebrød. Freakin' huge. To quote Mitch Hedberg: "Would you like anything else?" "Ya, a loaf of bread and some OTHER PEOPLE!"

For today, thaaaat’s all folks.  Catch you on the flip side.

Responses

  1. dude you sounds like you’re having an amazing time so far! i hope you continue to have the experience of a lifetime and have a bunch of entertaining adventures you can entertain me with at phonathon =]


Leave a Reply

Categories

