Posted by: landonrordam | July 24, 2009

Another Day in Copenhagen!

So.  After finishing up with all my exciting adventures in LEGOLand, my roommate/cousin Marina and I spent the next day in Copenhagen.  We first took the Metro down to one of the University areas, where there was a FANTASTIC new dorm that had just been built.

This dorm is much more swanky than Jamestown South.

This dorm is much more swanky than Jamestown South.

Then, after that, we went down and visited Christiania.  Let me tell you the story of Christiania.  During the late sixties and early seventies, a bunch of hippies were looking for a place to set up a free-love no-rent hippie paradise.  So a bunch of them jumped over the fence of a huge old military base and declared the area the free state of Christiania, exempt from Copenhagen laws, Danish laws, and European laws.  Hippies from all over Denmark flocked in and occupied the place, and the government gave some halfhearted resistance and then gave up.  Since then, some laws have come into place – most open selling of marijuana is banned (I say most because Marina and I passed a guy who had a big ol’ jar of pot he was vending…) and there is some rule of law.  The hippies have also realized that making your art for your own personal development, etc is fine – but when you sell those works for 50 bucks a pop! Well that’s much better.

Anyway, here’s Christiania.

There were a lot of "no foto" signs around, but I was able to sneak a few.  This is a booth where you can deposit any article of clothing, and take anything you want.  Personally, it doesn't really look like anything I'd want, but then again, I would never jump over a military fence and proclaim it my own country.

There were a lot of "no foto" signs around, but I was able to sneak a few. This is a booth where you can deposit any article of clothing, and take anything you want. Personally, it doesn't really look like anything I'd want, but then again, I would never jump over a military fence and proclaim it my own country.

An exit from Christiania.

An exit from Christiania.

After that, I went up the tower of Vor Frelsors Kirke, which has 400 steps — 150 of which are on the outside spiral of the church.  It was extremely windy and terrifying, but the view was incredible.  Since I’ve already shared pictures from the Rundetårn, I won’t put anymore landscape pictures, but here’s Vor Frelsors Kirke:

Vor Frelsors Kirke.  See that spiral? Ya, I walked up that.

Vor Frelsors Kirke. See that spiral? Ya, I walked up that.

Looking down from halfway up the spiral.

Looking down from halfway up the spiral.

After admiring the view, I joined Marina (who doesn’t like heights) down below and we continued our journey.  We saw some exciting sights, including an underwater statue, and then we visited the Denmark National Museum (their equivalent of the Smithsonian).  We saw viking spears, bog bodies, lots of golden and amber artifacts, and (what I thought to be the coolest): RUNES.

A runestone!  This was written 1000s of years ago.  I want to commemorate the death of a loved one by chiselling archaic lettering into a giant rock.

A runestone! This was written 1000s of years ago. I want to commemorate the death of a loved one by chiselling archaic lettering into a giant rock.

We also went to La Glace, a cake bakery that has been around for over 100 years.  And let me tell you – their cakes are FANTASTIC.  I have a lot of exciting pictures from this day, but you will have to ask me to see the rest!

Responses

  1. Is it just me or are most of the buildings intentionally haphazard? V swanky but seemingly extra dangerous.

    Looks like you’re having a ball!! Keep us posted 🙂

  2. Hi Landon!! I’m loving the travels! How fun. What I want to know is how were the CAKES?!?! I hope they lived up to ODB standards 🙂 Also, I had a little kid in my tennis class this past week named Landon… immediately one of my favs!


Leave a Reply

Categories

