Posted by: landonrordam | August 1, 2009

Gasp! Two Days in One Post!

Soo the past four days or so have been less exciting than the beginning of the trip.  This is mostly because I had worn myself out with the rents here, so I decided to take a break, walk around at a leisurely pace, get some reading done, etc.  So there isn’t as much to say for each day.

On Tuesday, I bid my parent adieu, then headed down toward my scheduled meeting with Joakim Garff, the author of my book Søren Kierkegaard: A Biography. It was a very good meeting; I was excited to meet him and I gained a lot of knowledge about Kierkegaard.  Eventually the interview and its insights will go up on the Kierkegaard blog.  After that I hung out in Rådhuspladsen, where the Rådhus, or Copenhagen town hall, is located. 

The Rådhus, or Copenhagen town hall.  The area in front is a very busy city square.

The Rådhus, or Copenhagen town hall. The area in front is a very busy city square.

After that I went to go see Harry Potter – with Danish subtitles!  It was quite an experience.  My verdict is that it was better than the last one (not a difficult feat) but still not fantastic movie-making.  Also, they (as usual) left a lot of stuff out.

The next day, my big event was going… bah buh bummm — to the ZOO!!  Yes, I embraced the little kid and biology major inside me and went to go hang out at the zoo.  There were a lot of fantastic critters (fun fact – I also taught my Danish cousins the word critters!  It’s the least I could do to repay their hospitality…).

Monkey!

Monkey!

Baby bears playing!

Baby bears playing!

Elephant!

Elephant!

Otters!  (Alyssa, Alina, and Jess: I think he's got brain damage!)

Otters! (Alyssa, Alina, and Jess: I think he's got brain damage!)

Penguins!

Penguins!

…And there were a lot more.  Anyway, that’s it for those two days.  Here’s your sign off picture:

Niels Bohr is buried in the same (extremely large) cemetary as Søren Kierkegaard.  This is his grave, which is one of the most pretentious in the entire cemetary.  It's seriously about 15 feet tall.

Niels Bohr is buried in the same (extremely large) cemetary as Søren Kierkegaard. This is his grave, which is one of the most pretentious in the entire cemetary. It's seriously about 15 feet tall.

Responses

  1. the zoo! penguins–the cousins’ favorites!
    Hope you and Bert connect on time today!
    Love to you both.
    the T.Harbor crowd!

  2. Did you really meet Mr. Garff? Won-der-ful!! I’m looking forward to read about the interview on the other blog. Have a great time for the next days!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

